Basketball Hall of Fame – Everything you need to know about the class of 2022


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has enshrined a new class of legends in Springfield, Massachusetts. The finalists for enshrinement were announced at February’s NBA All-Star Weekend in Cleveland, and the full class was announced on April 2 in New Orleans as part of the NCAA men’s basketball Final Four weekend.

This year’s group of enshrinees includes two first-time finalists: four-time NBA champion Manu Ginobili and three-time WNBA champion Lindsay Whalen. They join a group 11 others who have also earned basketball’s ultimate honor.

Basketball Hall of Fame news

  • Hardaway, Ginobili among those newly enshrined in Hall

  • Hardaway brings his legendary crossover to the Hall of Fame

  • ESPN’s Voepel, Frazier, Ebersol win Gowdy Award

Inside the most clandestine hall of fame voting process in all of sports

The Basketball Hall of Fame’s induction process is shrouded in secrecy. For the first time ever, Baxter Holmes pulls back the curtain on an election so confidential that the ballots are destroyed. Full story

Class of 2022: North American Committee selections

Hugh Evans

Elected as referee; Presented by Reggie Miller (Hall of Fame Class of 2012), George Gervin (’96)

  • 28 seasons as NBA referee (1973-2001)

  • Two seasons as NBA assistant supervisor of officials (2001-03)

  • Refereed more than 1,900 regular-season games, 35 Finals games and four All-Star Games.

Manu Ginobili

Elected as player; Presented by Tim Duncan (’20)

  • 13.3 PPG, 3.5 RPG, 3.8 APG in 16 seasons with San Antonio Spurs

  • Two-time All-Star and two-time All-NBA selection

  • Won four championships with San Antonio Spurs

  • Won Olympic gold medal in 2004 with Argentina

Goldsberry: The five legacies of Manu Ginobili

Tim Hardaway

Elected as player; Presented by Isiah Thomas (’00), Mitch Richmond (’14), Chris Mullin (’11), Yolanda Griffith (’21), Nate Archibald (’91)

  • 17.7 PPG, 8.2 APG, 3.3 RPG in 13 seasons with Golden State Warriors, Miami Heat, Dallas Mavericks, Denver Nuggets and Indiana Pacers

  • Five-time All-Star and five-time All-NBA selection

  • Won Olympic gold medal in 2000 with Team USA

Spears: Tim Hardaway is bringing his legendary crossover into the Hall of Fame

Andrews: Long before Steph, Klay and Dray, Run TMC captivated Warriors fans

Bob Huggins

Elected as coach; Presented by Jerry West (’80), Rod Thorn (’18)

  • More than 900 wins in 45 seasons as head coach at Walsh, Akron, Cincinnati, Kansas State and West Virginia

  • Reached Final Four in 1992 and 2010

George Karl

Elected as coach; Presented by Roy Williams (’07), Gary Payton (’13), Bobby Jones (’19)

  • 1,175-824 in 27 seasons as coach with Cleveland Cavaliers, Golden State Warriors, Seattle SuperSonics, Milwaukee Bucks, Denver Nuggets and Sacramento Kings

  • Reached playoffs 22 times with five different franchises

  • 2013 NBA Coach of the Year

Other finalists not elected: Michael Cooper, Marques Johnson

Class of 2022: Women’s Committee selections

Swin Cash

Elected as player; Presented by Tamika Catchings (’20), Teresa Weatherspoon (’19), Tina Thompson (’18), Isiah Thomas (’00), Geno Auriemma (’06)

  • 10.7 PPG, 5.3 RPG, 2.4 APG in 15 WNBA seasons with Detroit Shock, Seattle Storm, Chicago Sky and New York Liberty

  • Four-time All-Star and two-time All-Star MVP

  • Won WNBA championships with Detroit (2003, 2006) and Seattle (2010)

  • Two-time NCAA champion with Connecticut

  • Inducted into Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame (2021)

Lopez: Swin Cash is still adding to her Hall of Fame resume

Marianne Stanley

Elected as coach; Presented by Cathy Rush (’08), Lisa Leslie (’15), Nancy Lieberman (’96)

  • 416-222 in 22 seasons as college coach at Old Dominion, Penn, USC, Stanford and Cal

  • Won 1985 NCAA championship

  • Four seasons as WNBA head coach with Washington Mystics and Indiana Fever

  • 2002 WNBA Coach of the Year

  • Inducted into Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame (2002)

Lindsay Whalen

Elected as player; Presented by Dawn Staley (’13), Charles Barkley (’06)

  • 11.5 PPG, 4.9 APG, 3.8 RPG in 15 seasons with Connecticut Sun and Minnesota Lynx

  • Five-time All-Star and three-time All-WNBA first-team selection

  • Won three WNBA championships with Minnesota (2011, 2013, 2015)

Voepel: Lindsay Whalen was a Minnesota legend long before her Hall call

Other finalists not elected: Leta Andrews

Direct Elect Committee selections

Lou Hudson

Selected as player by Veterans Committee; Presented by Spencer Haywood (’15), Jamaal Wilkes (’12)

  • 20.2 PPG, 4.4 RPG, 2.7 APG in 13 seasons with St. Louis/Atlanta Hawks and Los Angeles Lakers

  • Six-time NBA All-Star

  • No. 23 retired by Hawks

Larry Costello

Elected as contributor by Contributor Committee; Presented by Billy Cunningham (’86), Wayne Embry (’99), Bob Dandridge (’21)

  • 12.2 PPG, 4.6 APG and 3.8 RPG in 12 seasons with Philadelphia Warriors and Syracuse Nationals/Philadelphia 76ers

  • Six-time NBA All-Star as player

  • 430-300 in 10 seasons as coach of Milwaukee Bucks and Chicago Bulls

  • Won NBA title as player (with 76ers) and coach (with Bucks)

Del Harris

Elected as contributor by Contributor Committee; Presented by Nancy Lieberman (’96), John Calipari (’15), Sidney Moncrief (’19)

  • 556-457 in 14 seasons as coach of Houston Rockets, Milwaukee Bucks and Los Angeles Lakers

  • Led Rockets to NBA Finals in 1981

  • Has coached at multiple levels for more than 50 years

Theresa Shank Grentz

Elected as player by Women’s Veterans Committee; Presented by Cathy Rush (’08), Charles Barkley (’06), Vivian Stringer (’09)

  • Three-time AIAW All-American at Immaculata University

  • Led Immaculata University to three consecutive national titles

  • Scored record 104 points in 1973 AIAW tournament

Radivoj Korac

Elected as player by International Committee; Presented by Spencer Haywood (’15)

  • 23.6 PPG in 1968 Olympics; led Yugoslavia to silver medal

  • Led Yugoslavia to silver medals at 1963 and 1967 FIBA World Cups

  • Holds EuroLeague’s single-game scoring record with 99 points vs. Alviks in 1964-65 season

Award winners

Curt Gowdy Media Award: Walt Frazier (electronic media), M.A. Voepel (print media), Dick Ebersol (transformative media)

John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award: Reggie Minton

Recent Hall of Fame classes

2021: Val Ackerman, Rick Adelman, Chris Bosh, Bob Dandridge, Lowell Fitzsimmons, Howard Garfinkel, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, Clarence Jenkins, Toni Kukoc, Pearl Moore, Paul Pierce, Bill Russell, Ben Wallace, Chris Webber, Jay Wright

2020: Patrick Baumann, Kobe Bryant, Tamika Catchings, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Kim Mulkey, Barbara Stevens, Eddie Sutton, Rudy Tomjanovich

2019: Al Attles, Carl Braun, Charles “Chuck” Cooper, Vlade Divac, Bill Fitch, Bobby Jones, Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma, Tennessee A&I teams from 1957 to 1959, Wayland Baptist University teams of 1982-84, Teresa Weatherspoon, Paul Westphal

2018: Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Tina Thompson, Dino Radja, Charlie Scott, Ora Mae Washington, Rod Thorn, Rick Welts, Katie Smith

2017: Robert Hughes, Tracy McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo, Muffet McGraw, Mannie Jackson, Tom Jernstedt, Jerry Krause, Zack Clayton, Nick Galis, George McGinnis

2016: Zelmo Beaty, Darell Garretson, Allen Iverson, Tom Izzo, John McClendon, Yao Ming, Shaquille O’Neal, Cumberland Posey, Jerry Reinsdorf, Sheryl Swoopes


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

nine − six =